The CPTT Executive Committee oversees the management, operations, and performance of the Centre across collaborating research nodes. Led by the CPTT Director, the CPTT Executive Committee comprises representation from each of the three major nodes, our senior ECR mentor, and Centre Manager.

Daily administrative and operational matters are managed by the Centre Manager, in consultation with the CPTT Director and Deputy Directors.

Professor Alastair Stewart

Director, ARC CPTT

Professor Stewart leads the Mechanopharmacology Laboratory in the Department of Biochemistry & Pharmacology at The University of Melbourne.

Professor Stewart has extensive experience in the field of respiratory and inflammation research. He has published over 200 papers, has had numerous patents proceed to grant and has served on the scientific advisory boards of several Australian Medical Research Institutes. Professor Stewart’s focus is on developing and applying the concept of mechanopharmacology in drug discovery and ultra-high content screening.

Professor Stewart is the Director of the CPTT.


Professor Kevin Pfleger

Deputy Director Entrepreneurship & UWA Node Leader

Professor Kevin Pfleger is Director, Biomedical Innovation at The University of Western Australia (UWA) and the MTPConnect WA Life Sciences Innovation Hub, as well as Head of Molecular Endocrinology and Pharmacology at the UWA Centre for Medical Research (Harry Perkins Institute of Medical Research). He is also Chief Scientific Advisor of Dimerix Limited, an ASX-listed spin-out company from UWA.

Professor Pfleger is Deputy Director of CPTT, and leader of our UWA node.


Professor Nicolas Voelcker

Deputy Director Translation & Monash Node Leader

Professor Voelcker’s key research interest lies in the fabrication and surface modification of porous semiconductor materials for applications in biosensors, biochips, biomaterials and drug delivery. A core research activity in his laboratory is the study of porous silicon based nanostructures and their surface chemistry. A current focus is the development of new nanostructured materials for biosensors, biochips, biomaterials and drug delivery. He has authored over 420 peer-reviewed journal articles with over 11,000 citations. He served on the College of Experts of the Australian Research Council. And he is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering.

Professor Voelcker is Deputy Director of CPTT and leader of our Monash University node.


Professor Alice Pébay

Senior ECR Mentor

Professor Alice Pébay’s team aims to use patient specific pluripotent stem cells to model neurodegenerative diseases of the eye and brain. She has a proven track record in generating iPSCs and differentiating them into various cell types for disease modelling including those affecting the central nervous system and the eye. Alice and her collaborators have pioneered the use of automation for human pluripotent stem cell research in Australia, enabling the streamlining generation and maintenance of iPSC-derived cells from hundreds of patients. She is the primary inventor of three granted international patents related to stem cell technology.

Professor Pébay is senior ECR mentor for CPTT.


Dr Susan Northfield

CPTT Centre Manager

Dr Susan Northfield is a trained medicinal and peptide chemist. She worked as a postdoctoral researcher at The University of Queensland before moving to The University of Melbourne where she ran the Drug Design Laboratory in the Department of Biochemistry & Pharmacology. She was the Academic Convenor for the Therapeutic Technologies Research Initiative Hallmark from 2016 – 2018, and joined the CPTT as manager in October 2019.